Poker News

Poker News

Poker Fuse

Ante Up Magazine


FEB. 18 POKERCAST RECAP: Well, this is it. After nearly 17 years straight, we have recorded our final Ante Up PokerCast. This epic episode clocks in at more than 2.5 hours as we revisit some of our greatest memories, interviews, characters, fans and guffaws. We will always be indebted to our listeners as they not only gave us validation but provided so much content and created this fantastic community known as the Ante Up Nation. Thanks for all that you've done, and hopefully we will, again, see you at the tables.

Our penultimate show

FEB. 11 POKERCAST RECAP: It's our penultimate episode and the final one with our standard structure. We discuss a player getting banned from Hustler Casino for peeking at someone's cards on a livestream; Encore Boston Harbor reopens its poker room but players aren't happy with the scenario, and Chris "Fox" Wallace opines that cash-game TV shows might not be what they represent. We also have the final O'Mally's Move and Phil N. has our last Hand of the Week. He has a suited K-J at the final table of a tournament.  

Poker table flips, GGPoker bets on flops

FEB. 4 POKERCAST RECAP: Someone tries to flip a table and fails in Japan; GGPoker offers sidebets and we only have two episodes left! We have O'Mally's final Move and Paul Garritson has the Hand of the Week. 

A bittersweet day

JAN. 28 POKERCAST RECAP: It's a bittersweet day as we announce the upcoming end to our poker show. After 16-plus years, we have decided Feb. 18 will be our last PokerCast. We may return for a special episode, so don't delete us, but for now, the weekly version is coming to an end. We complete an O'Mally's Move and Jerry Hanes is back with another Hand of the Week. 


Poker Hall of Fame Finalists Announced

Voting Will Now Commence Among the 31 Living Members



LAS VEGAS (Dec. 18, 2020) – Following nearly two weeks of open nominations for the Poker Hall of Fame, today the list of ten finalists was announced.  These finalists will now be considered by living members of the hall of fame, who will allocate a ballot of ten total points to any or all of the nominees to decide who will be inducted. The 2020 Finalists are (in alphabetical order):


  • Patrik Antonius
  • Lon McEachern and Norman Chad
  • Eli Elezra
  • Antonio Esfandiari
  • Chris Ferguson
  • Ted Forrest
  • Mike Matusow
  • Matt Savage
  • Isai Scheinberg
  • Huckleberry Seed


There are three new finalists in the 2020 class, including Lon McEachern and Norman Chad becoming the first “duo” nominated for induction due to their outstanding contributions to the WSOP broadcasts on ESPN, Patrik Antonius and Isai Scheinberg. Six of the nominees were also finalists in 2019, with another, long-time tournament director Matt Savage, a finalist in previous years.


The Poker Hall of Fame criteria remains the same as previous years,


  • A player must have played poker against acknowledged top competition
  • Be a minimum of 40-years-old at time of nomination
  • Played for high stakes
  • Played consistently well, gaining the respect of peers
  • Stood the test of time
  • Or, for non-players, contributed to the overall growth and success of the game of poker, with indelible positive and lasting results.


The 2020 inductee will be announced Wednesday, Dec. 30 prior to the WSOP Main Event finale at Rio All-Suite Hotel & Casino in Las Vegas.


It is expected that a formal induction ceremony will take place later in 2021.


The entire list of 58 Poker Hall of Fame members includes (alphabetical):

  • Tom Abdo ‘82
  • Crandell Addington ‘05
  • Bobby Baldwin ‘03
  • Billy Baxter ‘06
  • Lyle Berman ‘02
  • Joe Bernstein ‘83
  • Benny Binion ‘90
  • Jack Binion ‘05
  • Bill Boyd ‘81
  • Doyle Brunson ‘88
  • Todd Brunson ‘16
  • Johnny Chan ‘02
  • T.J. Cloutier ‘06
  • Nick Dandolos ‘79
  • Eric Drache ‘12
  • Barbara Enright ‘07
  • Mori Eskandani ‘18
  • Fred “Sarge” Ferris ‘89
  • Henry Green ‘86
  • T “Blondie” Forbes ‘80
  • Barry Greenstein ‘11
  • Jennifer Harman ‘15
  • Dan Harrington ‘10
  • Murph Harrold ‘84
  • Phil Hellmuth ‘07
  • John Hennigan ‘18
  • James Butler “Wild Bill” Hickok ‘79
  • Red Hodges ‘85
  • Edmond Hoyle ‘79
  • Phil Ivey ‘17
  • Linda Johnson ‘11
  • Berry Johnston ‘04
  • John Juanda ‘15
  • Jack Keller ‘93
  • Jack McClelland ‘14
  • Felton McCorquodale ‘79
  • Tom McEvoy ‘13
  • Chris Moneymaker ‘19
  • Roger Moore ‘97
  • Carlos Mortensen ‘16
  • Johnny Moss ‘79
  • Daniel Negreanu ‘14
  • Scotty Nguyen ‘13
  • David Oppenheim ‘10
  • Henry Orenstein ‘08
  • Walter “Puggy” Pearson ‘87
  • Julius Oral Popwell ‘96
  • Thomas Austin “Amarillo Slim” Preston ‘92
  • David “Chip” Reese ‘91
  • Brian “Sailor” Roberts ‘12
  • Erik Seidel ‘10
  • Mike Sexton ‘09 
  • Jack “Treetop” Straus ‘88
  • Duane “Dewey” Tomko ‘08
  • David “Devilfish” Ulliott ‘17
  • Stu “The Kid” Ungar ‘01
  • Red Winn ‘79
  • Sid Wyman ‘79


For more information on the Poker Hall of Fame, visit


The Poker Hall of Fame, established in 1979, was acquired by Harrah’s Entertainment along with the World Series of Poker in 2004.  Though the Hall of Fame is virtual in nature, its membership includes poker's most influential players and other important contributors to the game. There are now 32 living members, and 58 members have been bestowed the honor of Poker Hall of Famer.  The Poker Hall of Fame traditionally elects one or two members annually.  The enshrinement ceremony is now held in concert with the final table of the Main Event of the WSOP, held in Las Vegas.


The World Series of Poker® is the largest, richest and most prestigious gaming event in the world, having awarded more than $3.29 billion in prize money and the prestigious gold bracelet, globally recognized as the sport’s top prize. Featuring a comprehensive slate of tournaments in every major poker variation, the WSOP is poker’s longest-running tournament in the world, dating back to 1970.  In 2019, the event attracted 187,298 entrants from 118 different countries to the Rio All-Suite Hotel & Casino in Las Vegas and awarded more than $293 million in prize money. In addition, the WSOP has formed groundbreaking alliances in broadcasting, digital media and corporate sponsorships, while successfully expanding the brand internationally with the advent of WSOP Europe in 2007 and the WSOP Asia-Pacific in 2013 and the WSOP International Circuit Series in 2015. All WSOP events are subject to the then-current and applicable WSOP tournament rules. For more information, please visit

Place Your Ad Here